Please reload

Recent Posts

The Tradition of Lent and WHY We Eat Seafood on Fridays

February 13, 2018

Please reload

Featured Posts

SEAFOODie Stuff: The Three Types of Shellfish


What do you think of when you hear shellfish, for us it's crab, lobster, shrimps, and clams etc. But did you know squid and octopus are actually shell fish as well?  There is actually THREE categories of shellfish? So what are these categories?? Crustaceans, Mollusks, and Cephalopods.




-A Crustacean is an animal with a body, outer jointed skeleton or shell.  They even shed their shells as they grow. For example: lobsters, crayfish, crab, shrimps, prawns, etc.







-A Mollusk is an animal with is univalve, it basically has ONE shell, or a Bivalve, which has TWO shells.  These shells expand as the animal grows.  For example: clams, oysters, scallops, and mussels.




-Cephalopods are similar to mollusks, these animals have a reduced internal shell called a pen or cuttlebone.  For example: squid, octopus, and cuttlefish.




Share on Facebook
Share on Twitter
Please reload

Follow Us
Search By Tags
Please reload

  • Facebook Basic Square
  • Twitter Basic Square
  • Google+ Basic Square